Lazy days in Pokhara

17/04/2012 23:41

 

 
Content:
 
- Camping
- City Nights / strike
- Dental disaster
- Holy Festival
 
Good eight kilometers from Pokhara I pitch my tent. At the campsite in Parme (www.overland-camping.com) I meet old friends, like Mark, Jens and Eve, and Hardie, Luca and family, etc. I do not have much plans for the oncoming days: the car needs some little things to do, my beauty sleep is now extended to over 9 AM and in the afternoon we play Speedmington or Betang. The days pass in a flash...
 
City Nights / strike
 
Eventually, Mark and I escape from the mill's of hanging around and move to downtown Pokhara. We park on the main road in front of the "Sun Welcome Cafe" and camped there for two nights. We enjoy cheap Alkahol (headache guaranteed) and have nothing against the general strike the next morning. The streets are empty, no driving a car, the streets are quickly converted to a playground. We play football with the kids' and also enjoy a match Speedmington. :) Thank you :o)
 
 
Dental disaster
 
What does tell you that your travel last for too long? = If you have to visit the dentist during your vacasions! Well I would not really need to visit the dentist, but because Mark had an appointment, Mr. Chicken Roman decided also to have a look to his teeth: "one, two, three, four, five ..." I stop him and ask the dentist Ben what does the numbers mean? "These are the number of holes that I've found so far"???????? "WHAAAAAT??!!??"
 
At the end the good tooth-uncle found 10! TEN! ONE-ZERO! holes in my mouth. I'm at the end, I can hardly believe it. I'm really afraid of dentists and just now my greatest nightmare becomes reality! AUW NOOO ... Ben makes me an offer for a total renovation including Dental hygienic. The number 14,000 rupees is called ... And I just wonder if this is the price per tooth? No, 10 holes plus Dental hygienic = 14,000 rupees = USD 175!
 
After I caught up with references and repair the ten holes without any pain I have to leave a confession: SWISS DENTAL YOU WILL NEVER SEE ME AGAIN! For the Swiss price of this treatment I can afford a luxury trekking in Nepal plus renovate my teeth. 
 
Holy Festival
 
"Happy Holy", "Happy Holy" the children call usually followed by a handful of powder paint. The Holy Festival is indeed very colorful. Everything and everyone is painted in bright colors and showered with water. Even animals are not spared :) So it happens that not only the cat, "Lili" seeks refuge in Fridolin, no Dian also makes himself comfortable on the back seat ...! I take it calmly and repaint my map on the car... :)
 

Link to the pictures of Pokhara, please click here