Family Night in Nepal

06/04/2012 09:55

 

 
Index:
- Welcome to Nepal
- Family Night in Nepal
- Road to Kathmandu
 
Welcome to Nepal
 
We sit in the friendly customs building on the Indian side with tea and biscuits. The border is in sight, only our Carnet de Passage must be stamped and then we can roll Fridolin over another boundary. :)
 
The anticipation is huge, the last time when I arrived in Nepal, for days I could not get my smile away from my face.  And even now as I write this report, sitting in Kathmandu, next to me Fridolin is getting repaired again, I have this deep joy in me. Today, anyway, I've seen for the first time through the haze of Kathmandu and seen a number of snowy mountains!
 
BACK IN NEPAL, BACK IN THE MOUNTAINS ... MY HEART JUMPS :)
 
Family Night in Nepal
 
At the border post in Nepal, we took two Backpackers on board. Boora from South Korea and Dominic from Germany. The two backpackers would like to go to Kathmandu and hop onto Frido's small back seat.
 
The sun is low and I'm slowly thinking about our place to sleep. Now we are four and a certain responsibility for the two newcomers lays on my shoulders. I brake sharply and drive back, my gut feeling has struck as I navigate to a family house.
 
The head of the family is quickly explained our concerns and he agrees that we can camp on his property. The children are of course completely excited and greet the strange figures with typical candor of children. The little toll around us and laugh merrily while the older ones are busy with household chores.
 
Also, we throw ourselves into our work, prepare the food, put up the tents and between we take some photos of the nice family. As so often, a brilliant experience ...
Road to Kathmandu
 
The road runs mostly along a river, the sky is overcast and we can not see any mountains. But the green hills with their countless, yet unplanted rice terraces show a completely different picture than in India. The road winds up and down these hills, we pass through villages and small towns until we  finally enter Kathmandu, Nepal's capital.
 
In the very first moment I am overcome by the good atmosphere of the city. I feel comfortable here, not because it is clean, not because it is beautiful, but somehow I like it here ... Kathmandu is a city like Ulaanbaatar in Mongolia ... Somehow a shit hole, but they don't let me go anymore...
 

Link to the photos: click here